This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Temp. rent, utility asst. for deceased's caretaker? Indiana

I have been caring for my mother since 1990.
    She passed away unexpectantly 7/31/2010.
    I have been living with her as her caretaker.
    She was on Section 8, receiving rent assistance.
    Having been laid off 8 weeks ago, and with her passing, I am now heart broken, without an income and no money to keep the house for even 2 months so I can take care of everything (her arrangements, gathering and dispersing belongings to siblings, finding out where I will be going, etc.)!
    Is there anywhere I can look for assistance with rent and utilities for 3 months or so, just to give me time to get my bearings?
    I live in Hamilton County, in Indiana.
    Thank you so much for any help.

Do you get unemployment ins. since you have been laid off? Did your Mother have no estate & no will?

You might talk to the United Way agcy. in your area for help/suggestions.
    Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around. Leo Buscaglia

Live in peace with animals. Animals bring love to our hearts and warmth to our souls.

Comment

Thank you Betty

Originally posted by Betty3 View Post
      Do you get unemployment ins. since you have been laid off? Did your Mother have no estate & no will?

You might talk to the United Way agcy. in your area for help/suggestions.
      Betty, I receive $115.00 a week in Unemployment, and I will receive that for 10 weeks (5 more weeks).

And when you are poor, what Estate is there? What would a will show?
      There is no money. My mom worked for 30 years, got injured and then too sick to work, and was receiving $600.00 a month in SSI, plus rent assistance.

If I had not lived with her as a caretaker, she would have had nothing resembling a life.