This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tenn. tax question please ? Tennessee

My gf and I have been liveing togather for over 6 years now and I have been out of work for over 2 years and she has payed all the bills, I have o income can she clame me on her taxes and if so what form would she use? Thanks for any info. we live in tn. and sorry if in the wrong post place

No. To qualify as a dependent, the individual must be a child or qualifying relative.
    http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p17.pdf
    I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.

Comment

I am going to give a different answer. I am not sure that I am correct, but I have heard a different answer in context of an entirely different situation. There is a common discussion about same sex domestic partners (DP). There is a federal law called DOMA (Defense of Marriage Act) that says that a "spouse" cannot be a person of the same sex (yes, I understand that this is not your issue, but I am getting to your issue).

The next step legally is looking at the actual law for dependents, which is IRC (Internal Revenue Code) section 152, rule #9. I am going to cite the exact rule, but I have included a pointer to the actual law. While I am not disagreeing with Patty saying that the IRS form says what it says, the actual law does not say the same thing. More importantly, IRS apparently issued an letter ruling (#9603011) that it was legally possible for a domestic partner to be a Dependant under the IRC 152, rule #9 exception. And that IRS very specifically did not say that the domestic partner had to be of the same sex.
      http://www.fourmilab.ch/ustax/www/t26-A-1-B-V-152.html