This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• CA - Self-employment tax question

I am having trouble figuring out whether I must pay self-employment tax.

My employer had me fill out a W-9, not a W-2. I have recently received form 1099-MISC. However, it seems to me that I am in an employer-employee relationship and nothing remotely like self-employment. I work for an event production company, providing labor for outdoor events, such as company picnics, parties, barbecues, etc.

The IRS site says: You are self-employed if any of the following apply to you:

You carry on a trade or business as a sole proprietor or an independent contractor.
    You are a member of a partnership that carries on a trade or business.
    You are otherwise in business for yourself.

Am I carrying on a trade or business?

Am I “otherwise in business for myself?”

I do not operate my own business.
    I am not a sole proprietor.
    I am not an independent contractor.
    I am not a member of a trade or business partnership.
    I am employed by only one business.
    I am not working under any written contract.
    I do not solicit my services freely in public or private.
    I do not use my own vehicle or tools.
    I am not conducting a specific trade.
    My employer is in charge of where, when, & how the work is done.
    My employer determines the rate of pay.

Nothing about the way I am working seems to be self-employment. When I filled out the form W-9, did that give me independent contractor status regardless of whether my actual situation meets the criteria outlined on the IRS site? My employer is temporarily unavailable, so I cannot inquire with them what to do about this until after April 15th.

Can anyone tell me if the IRS considers me to be self-employed?