This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Employee vs Contractor

I posted this in the Virginia Labor law form also.

I work part time for a DJ multi op service in VA. My contract states I am a contractor but doing some research, it seems that I am actully an employee. "They" tell me where to go, and when to be there. "They" have trained me. I use 'Their" equipment and music. I use my own vehicle. I deduct mileage.
    "They" set the pay scale. I only receive a set amount of money as pay and it does not change except for distance traveled to and from a job. "They" store all the equipment that must be picked up, delivered for the job, torn down and stored back in "Their" storage area. I have no financial risk involved. I can quit with a 30 day notice acording to contract, but also have a "non-compete clause" in it that is very time and area specific.

"They" take no withholdings from my pay. I pay those myself each year.

If I am an employee by law, and not a contractor as it states in the contract, shouldn't they be deducting the withholdings?

"They" have been in business many years and I would think "They" should no better, but perhaps "They" know something I don't .... yet.

Thansk for any comments

Very interesting. An IRS School of Taxation???

http://www.unclefed.com/AuthorsRow/G...ployeecon.html
    "What would a reasonable person do?"

aryels
    A.S. Paralegal
    Criminal Justice Student--B.S.

"Give this guy 15 cents and tell him to go to hell."

Comment

Well this is commonly done by many businesses. I cannot really respond definitively because usually the control test is used to dictate if you are an employee or a contractor and the type of work that you do, the hours you work, whether you are reimbursed for mileage or not and so on are all issues.

Comment

1099 Contractors vs. W-2 Contractor?