Tough Bargaining

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tough Bargaining

In genral, can an employer demand to see the union's proposals for a successor contract prior to making the employer's proposals?

In general, you are going to need to contact a lawyer for this one. What either side may do or be compelled to do in contract negotiations is very detail specific.
    I post with the full knowledge and support of my employer, though the opinions rendered are my own and not necessarily representative of their position. In other words, I'm a free agent.

Comment

your business agent (bargaining agent) will know the answer to this question....can't find my notes from negotiations class, "demand" sounds a bit strong, but the process has to start somewhere or you (both) end up sitting at the table in silence. doing that usually doesn't accomplish much.......

Comment

Thanks,
        My business agent is the one who allowed this to happen.
        I couldn't believe my eyes, it seems to me that fair bargaining should start with an even exchange of proposals. Not one side providing the other with their strategy in advance. Anyone agree?

Comment

Originally posted by deweybound
          In genral, can an employer demand to see the union's proposals for a successor contract prior to making the employer's proposals?
          The question I think you really wanted to ask is does the union have to provide it?

Not necessarily. I am sure you are aware that Sec. 8(d) imposes on each side a duty to bargain in good faith.

Two ways an employer or union can establish that the other side has failed to bargain in good faith is (1) the unreasonableness of proposed contract terms and (2) the actions of the other side in the negotiation (ie was the bargaining sincere)