X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 17 and want to move to another state without permission

Hi, Im 17 years old.
    I want to move from Texas to a different state in december or january ( I will still be 17) and I know my mother is not going to allow this but if I leave anyway can she make me come back home? Im 17, I have a high school diploma I am in college right now. And I've had a job since I was fifteen. Can she seriously still make me come back what are the laws because I keep getting mixed feedback and I need an answer now. Please help.

Until your 18th birthday and not one minute before, you live where your mother says you live. The law does NOT say you are a legal adult when you graduate from high school. It does NOT say that as long as you are in college you can live wherever you want. It does NOT say that as long as you have a job you are on your own.

The law says that until you are 18, you are still a minor, are still legally a child, and are under the care and control of your parents. On your 18th birthday, you can legally make your own decision where you live and what you do. Until that day, your parents have the final say.
    The above answer, whatever it is, assumes that no legally binding and enforceable contract or CBA says otherwise. If it does, then the terms of the contract or CBA apply.

Comment

Having grown up in Texas, I can tell you that no cop in the state is going to enforce that and make you go home if you are 17. Especially if you are 17 w/ a high school diploma and a job. They are also not going to go to another state to bring you home.

How long before you turn 18?

Comment

But ther'es nothing stopping the parents themselves from dragging the kid home, or sending an agent other than the cops to do it.
        The above answer, whatever it is, assumes that no legally binding and enforceable contract or CBA says otherwise. If it does, then the terms of the contract or CBA apply.

Comment