Tired of being afraid in Illinois

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tired of being afraid in Illinois

I'm new at this. This is one of the hardest things I have ever done. I never thought that it could happen to me, but it did. the truth of the matter that it could happen to anyone. I thought because I was young, never married before, came from a good home, wasn't poor, never did without, have a lot of friends, close to my family, educated, pretty, not overweight, always very popular, never slepted around, had long term relationships, and nver picked up strangers; that I would never be in harm with a man. I heard about horrible stories about domestic abuse and watched movie and read stories about domestic abuse, but never thought it would be me. I knew this guy for sometime and he was not my usual type to date, but he seemed different and very sweet and kind. I thought he was going to be the one, and I thought I loved and that he loved me, but I guess I was wrong. He was fine for the first few months, but then thingst started to change. His true colors came out. He was jealous of me; that I knew more people than he did, that I was close to my family and had a big family, that I had more friends than he did, that I had a great high school life, just stupid stuff like that. He started by calling me names, then threw things at me, threatend me, then pushing me, then choking me, grabbing me, threatening me with his guns and aiming them at me, forcing me to do sexual things that I didn't want to do. I broke up with him, and he went off the deep end said and that was that. We talked a little while after and he sounded better and told me he was getting help, so I decided to give him the benefit of the doubt. Boy was I wrong. At first things were good, but then he was worse than before. He was drinking more, he got physical more frequently, verbally abusive all the time, and was blaming me for everything. He said to me, "Why do you make me hurt you like t