This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Emacipated in Missouri Missouri

My name is Kirstin (last name) and I am a tenth grade student in Missouri. I live with my father and my grandma. My grandma has stage five Alzheimer’s and sundowner’s disease, which causes confusion after “sundown.” My dad and I have lived with my grandma since I was an infant. My father works at least fifty hours a week, but doesn’t spend his paychecks on necessities for my grandmother and myself.

My grandma is constantly sick and my dad is never home. Our fridge is constantly empty. The three of us are always arguing and it has really taken a toll on me both mentally and physically. I’m on two anti-depressants and sleeping medication for night terrors.

I want to move in with family friends in Paducah, Kentucky. They are so good to me and they treat me the way I deserve. They check up on me daily and always make sure I’m doing well in school. They have offered multiple times to take me in and they say they would do anything to get me out of my father’s custody. Lisa, the mother, works for the Kentucky government as a secretary for Child Services. She wants more than anything to get custody of me.

I am willing to do nearly anything to move out of my dad’s and into somewhere that I know I will have a future. I don’t have a hate for my dad but I know I could do so much better in a home where people express their love for me. When I’m with them, I’m in a much better mood overall and I try harder to work for goals I want to achieve. I strive for a better future; I want to finish high school and go to college to me a registered nurse and work in a rural hospital.