Should I be able to stop support in NJ? New Jersey

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Should I be able to stop support in NJ? New Jersey

I have been paying CS in NJ for many years. My son turned 18 last February and is due to be 19 on 2/1/09. He "barely" graduated from High School and didn't want to go to college. His mom enrolled him for 12 hours at community college in the fall. He was recently expelled for misconduct and has to receive a counselors release to attend the winter/spring semester. I paid for 1/2 of the tuition and his books along with continued CS. He has a part-time job and he bought a new car which wasn't my idea but his and his mom's who co-signed the note for him.

He doesn't want to be in school. He actually failed all of his courses last semester so the money is gone and the credits didn't count. His mom is insisting he get his visit in with counselors to be released to attend the winter/spring semester at community college as she has already paid in full for him to attend 12 hours minimum. Still don't know if he can even attend the school yet but i'm wanting to seek an empancipation order on him as I feel he is wasting the tuition when he doesn't want to be there.

I feel she is keeping him pushed to attend (which he rarely does) to keep CS going. She makes more money than I do as it is. If he is "enrolled" but not passing or barely attending school, what are my chances at release?

He wants to move to another state and 'work' and go to school but he can't afford to move anyway with having a part time job and a car payment. He won't make the effort to get a second job either or effort to do well in school. What are my chances? I want to do the right thing but I feel money is being wasted by him and abused by her.