Complete Labor Law Poster for $24.95
from www.LaborLawCenter.com, includes
State, Federal, & OSHA posting requirements

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

California DLSE "Investigator" omitted and changed evidence to match her Decision.

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• California DLSE "Investigator" omitted and changed evidence to match her Decision.

I was summarily fired a few days after lodging one of many complaints to my employer who was deducting our pay for taking legal rest breaks. I had been complaining to him for at least 8 months, but only recently began taking rest breaks. I was not happy with his illegal policy or the loss of wages.

In California, we are allegedly allowed to take rest breaks (10 minutes per 4 hours worked). We are also allegedly protected if we complain about such an illegal policy to our employer and try to get him to correct it without violence or reporting him to the State.

DLSE Investigator had ample written evidence to support the fact he was doing this, as well as a former employee that told me nearly verbatim the policy that the employer told me: "you can take a rest break, but you gotta punch out and you don't get paid." (paraphrasing).

The Investigating Deputy omitted the following relevant evidence from her Decision:
    -DLSE Wage Claims nullified a signed Release and reopened my "closed" wage claim case when evidence came to light that showed the employer had fraudulently testified to the DLSE Conference Deputy about deducting rest breaks. Handwritten copies of this evidence were contained in the investigator's own case file, but she told me the case "was never reopened" and wrote her Decision as though this were true - despite her knowing otherwise. The DLSE Database itself shows it was reopened exactly when I have been maintaining it was.