This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Monkey paw

Hi, I live in Newhampshire, I had an accident in Sept. 2005. I work as a painter. The ladder I was working on flipped sending me to the ground on my head as a result of this fall, before the fall I had told my boss that I and the other workers had enough for the day, it was very hot. I was told that we had to finish today, reluctantly I continued, then I fell. I have a huge scar on my face, severely broke my wrist and injured my back. Back injuries include bracialplexis nerve damage, and syringomyelia.
    I was sent to a neurologist, he said while indeed this condition exsists, he was not to conceirned at this point. He ordered another mri in six months.
    I have an appointment with a doctor at a pain management clinic on the 24th. Now my boss is being evasive.
    I am in coniderable pain and they won't give me medication, they only offer the option of a spinal cord stimulator, I think that is extreme.
    So that was just some background,I have no idea how the w/c system works my questions are, If I can't, and I don't think I'll ever be able to do what I used to, does my boss have to take me back ?
    What does closing a w/c case consist of ?
    If I'll never be 100% will they retrain me and help find me a job?
    How long and what help will they give me.
    Sorry about being so wordy, I looked up w/c regs. on the state site and I'm confused. I have more questions but none come to mind right now, Thank you, Monkey paw.

The most your employer would have to keep your job open for is 12 weeks. Beyond that, it is totally up to them.

If you are unhappy with the treatment suggested, you need to talk to the doctor.

If you are unable to return to your old job, your boss does not have to take you back. You can be retrained for something else but you should really talk over your options with a WC lawyer.