X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• PA workman's compensation

Hello,
    I live in PA and I work as a nurse Per Diem at a hospital and I injured my neck lifting patients. As prescribe by the Workman's compensation doctors, I am on light duty.
    I found another job. The new job offers Blue Cross and Blue Shield, which is relevant to one of my questions.
    If I quit the current job, will workman's compensation continue to provide me with medical treatment for this injury? Can or will the insurance company at the new job provide me with medical care for this injury? If my neck gets better and later on the problem reoccurs, will the insurance company reject
    a claim?
    Any insight will be appreciated.
    Thanks

The workers comp carrier from your original employer will still be responsible for any medical bills associated with the injury. The health insurance carrier at your new job will have no liability for them at this time; it is about 100% certain that they exclude coverage for work related injuries. If you should be injured at your new job, THEIR workers comp carrier will take care of it, not the BCBS - they certainly wouldn't be responsible for work related injuries from a different position.

Whether they will be responsible for any related injuries in future will depend on how clearly they can be tied to the initial injury.

The bottom line is that the BCBS policy at your new job is not responsible for any work related injuries, no matter where or when they occur. Work related injuries are the responsibility of the associated workers comp carrier; the BCBS policy is only responsible for NON work related injuries.
    The above answer, whatever it is, assumes that no legally binding and enforceable contract or CBA says otherwise. If it does, then the terms of the contract or CBA apply.

Comment