X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dropped Worker's Compensation in 2006 in PA Pennsylvania

Hello,

I have been working as a machinery service technician for over 2 years for a guy in PA. It is a small company, just him and I. He has had many other employees come and go, and at one point had 5 on the payroll. He is on his own payroll as well. A few weeks ago, I lacerated my dominant index finger on the job. After the emergency room visit, I was asking for the workers comp info. I was strung along for a few days before he came out and said that they "were having trouble finding the policy." The ensuing conversation revealed that he knowingly dropped coverage in 2006 "when he didn't have any employees," even though he remained on the payroll. I was never informed of this. I assumed that since I am in an extremely dangerous position DAILY, he would have it. I could lose a hand/fingers, get crushed, etc. Sometimes the equipment is the size of a city bus, even a rail car.

What is the potential penalty that could arise out of this? Is it totally predicated on how my finger heals? Can I go after him? I am told that WC is approximately 8% of my salary, give or take. I figure this dirt bag has pocketed about an extra 13k over 2 years, taking it directly from me and my family. Couple that with the screwed up "overtime" (see other post) that he claims to pay me, and its approximately 36-40k that this scum owes me. Can I go after this?

Thank You all in advance.

ARTICLE III
    Liability and Compensation
    Section 301
    (a) Every employer shall be liable for compensation for personal injury to, or for the death of each employe, by an injury in the course of his employment, and such compensation shall be paid in all cases by the employer, without regard to negligence, etc here http://www.portal.state.pa.us/portal...07&mode=2#art3
    There is a Uninsured Employer Fund that will pay benefits in your claim...
    Sec 1603 Claims.