This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Voluntary training are we covered? Ohio

I am a Firefighter in Ohio and the discusion has come up actualy resulting in firefighters not being able to go to off site training due to budget constraints, the firefighters were willing to go voluntarily but denied due to the fire chiefs opinion that if injured they would not be covered by Ohio workers comp., though these are trainings to further education of work related duties, and benifit the division as a whole. Just wondering if there is any actual case material or if any one has an answer to this question. Are we coverd if it is department recomended, benificial to the department, required etc, But attending unpaid/off the clock.

Your Risk Manager should be able to tell you.
    I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.

Comment

If you go here...http://www.ohiobwc.com/downloads/bla...ORC4123.01.pdf you will find in section 4123.01 (A)(1)(ii)
      Off-duty firefighters, whether paid or volunteer, of a lawfully constituted fire department.
      though these are trainings to further education of work related duties, and benifit the division as a whole. Just wondering if there is any actual case material or if any one has an answer to this question. Are we coverd if it is department recomended, benificial to the department, required etc, But attending unpaid/off the clock.
      The issue would/could rather be IS the injury/illness (if there is one) AOE/COE. Arising Out of your Employment/during the Course Of your Employment ?
      So, it's not so much a question of the off site training being recomended, or beneficial to the dept., is it required, and probably a normal paid function of your employment?
      Just because you volunter for a particular function, or training seminar, doesn't mean you are covered, or automatically precluded from coverage under the ER's WC plan.