This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question Illinois

I injured myself on the job and have been on workers comp for almost a year. Recently, I have been summoned by my now ex-employers lawyers claiming fraud (not related to my workers comp injury). I am about to settle with the WC insurance company...can my employer put a stop to the settlement? If they can't, can they freeze my settlement check because of the allegations they are making towards me?

You are talking apples and oranges. Assuming it isn't WC fraud they are accusing you of, one has nothing to do with the other. Your employer may be relucatant to offer a full and final settlement of the WC claim until this other matter is resolved but they aren't requred to ever settle full and final with you.
    I post with the full knowledge and support of my employer, though the opinions rendered are my own and not necessarily representative of their position. In other words, I'm a free agent.

Comment

I agree with Elle....

One more thing, since the two cases have nothing to do with each other (right?), the settlement can certainly be attached as part of a court order.
      Not everything that makes you mad, sad or uncomfortable is legally actionable.

I am not now nor ever was an attorney.

Any statements I make are based purely upon my personal experiences and research which may or may not be accurate in a court of law.

Comment

Originally posted by ElleMD View Post
        You are talking apples and oranges. Assuming it isn't WC fraud they are accusing you of, one has nothing to do with the other. Your employer may be relucatant to offer a full and final settlement of the WC claim until this other matter is resolved but they aren't requred to ever settle full and final with you.
        I was under the assumption that I am not suing my employer, I am suing the insurance company.

Comment