This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Hampshire Urgent Worker's Comp Question

I am a nurse who was injured at work catching a patient. I continued to work and never missed any time due to the injury. My problem is that my physician treating the injury put me on modified duty with specific restrictions which essentially prevented me from doing the two main parts of my usual job as charge nurse - the medication pass and related patient care.

My employer, however, kept putting me on the schedule as charge nurse, usually the only nurse scheduled on a particular unit or floor.

Also, no official notice was given to me that as to what I was or was not supposed to do at work - and although all supervisors and management received copies of the doctor's restrictions, they did not abide by them.

The first time this happened, I went to the floor to find the nurse from the previous shift raring to go and no one there but me. I did what I had to do to get her out of there (called shift change) but nothing that actually violated the medical restrictions placed my physician. My supervisor walked in on this and and was upset with me for not advocating for or protecting myself and simply refusing to do any charge nurse duties at all.

So, the next time I was told to do tasks (also charge nurse duties) which I was restricted from doing based on my injuries, I politely declined, and this tiime a different supervisor later used this as one of a number of reasons to terminate me - all related to my worker's compensation injury and based on my following supervisor's orders to perform tasks which violated the medical restrictions, or, that one time, refusing to perform the tasks as one of the supervisors had told me to refuse any scheduling or supervisor orders that ordered me to do things that my doctors had said in writing that I wasn't supposed to do.