This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• paid by percentage truck driver Florida

I was paid percentage of what the truck grossed every week. My dilema is-Is it ok for any employer to mandate that the driver sit around and wait without pay until dispatched to next load no matter how long and to what extent? Was my obligation as an employee over once I delivered my previous load since my pay is determined only by time securing, transporting and delivering load? I am considered a local truck driver- all freight that was hauled stayed in Florida. Any info would be helpful!!!!!!

When you divide the number of hours that you are working, including those where you are waiting for an assignment, by the total you are making per week, does it equal at least minimum wage?
    I post with the full knowledge and support of my employer, though the opinions rendered are my own and not necessarily representative of their position. In other words, I'm a free agent.

Comment

Employer forbid (in writing which I still have) from keeping track of times. In Florida there is a 200 air mile radius from (home base) in which if you travel you are not required to keep log books. There is no record of time spent on job. In this specific situation I arrived at work at 4:30 am, accomplished duties, was empty by 10 am and was not scheduled to pick up another load. Approximately 4 pm, dispatcher informed me that I was booked to pick up a load the following morning at 7 am. Employer stated that I was required to remain in the truck (without compensation) instead of driving back to the company yard in order to save fuel. At this point I had been at work for 11 1/2 hours and since I am paid by percentage had only made $66.50 and had 15 hours to go until I would be making more money.

Comment