This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Injury before work Ohio

Is an employee entitled to workers compensation for an injury that occurs on the employer's premises (e.g. a break room or locker room), but before the work day actually begins? What does the law say about that? Thanks.

The million dollar question. There is no absolute here. Why was the employee there? What caused the injury? Was work being performed?
    I post with the full knowledge and support of my employer, though the opinions rendered are my own and not necessarily representative of their position. In other words, I'm a free agent.

Comment

Originally posted by ElleMD View Post
      The million dollar question. There is no absolute here. Why was the employee there? What caused the injury? Was work being performed?
      We'll say the employee was in the break room or locker room on the employer premises. This was before work actually began. The employee was not engaged in horseplay, but wasn't engaged in work or preparation for work (like, for example, making coffee or something).

The injury occurred due to the fault of something of the employer's (a chair breaking, a coffee pot exploding, etc.).

The employee was there before his work shift began.

Thanks.

Comment

In that case, yes, it would be irrelevant that the employee hadn't actually clocked in yet.
        I post with the full knowledge and support of my employer, though the opinions rendered are my own and not necessarily representative of their position. In other words, I'm a free agent.

Comment

Originally posted by ElleMD View Post
          In that case, yes, it would be irrelevant that the employee hadn't actually clocked in yet.
          So essentially what you're saying is that the employee WOULD be able to collect workers compensation for that injury?

Is there any authority out there that you know of? Ohio would be preferable, but any will do. Thanks.

Comment