This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Worker's Comp Pay/Tax & Ins. Liability Tennessee

I am currently on week 5 of W.C. and receiving 2/3 of my salary from the W.C. carrier. No taxes are being withheld. What are my tax liabilities? Are these funds taxable? My ins. is normally deducted from my checks. Can HR stop my ins. without notification? I am awaiting surgery. I noticed in the TN Law that if it were a back injury I should receive the option of both ortho and neuro. The company-referred doc. I saw the day of injury referred me to an ortho, after an MRI he says surgery. As an operating room nurse I would like the opinion and possibly have a neuro do the surgery. The insurance carrier says I have to go back to the original co. doc for a referral to neuro. The insurance assigned person is most hard to reach and drags her feet in decision making or I would have already had the surgery and be closer to returning to work. This is all a very frustrating experience. Any words of wisdom out there?? Just prior to my injury my employer over=hired and was requiring low work activity days. I at times was the only nurse and for 6 months worked 90-100 hours per pay period. I believe he is going to not find a need for me when I am able to return to work. What about that? debi874

TTD (2/3 wages) received from WC are not taxable. The wages do not count as taxable income at the end of the year. Since the money isn't coming directly from your employer, they aren't going to deduct insurance premiums. Most states also prohibit such deductions. You can always pay the premium by check to your employer.