This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dr. says "career altering damage"...? Oregon

I will do my best to put this in a nut shell. I am a police officer and injured my rt shoulder in 1998. Over the course of the next 2 years I had 4 surgeries on the shoulder and ended up with what they call a "shoulder reconstruction. Workman's comp was never an issue and they accepted the claim without any static.

My shoulder has never been the same and I have always had pain with it. It had been a struggle. Over the last four years it has steadly gotten worse and the mobility is less while the pain is increasing...pretty much on a daily basis.

Finally checked in with the same surgeon after getting okay from workman's comp to reopen claim as a re-aggravation and after an x-ray he discovered severe arthritis. He told me the shoulder is degenerating and the damage is potentially career altering. I am sheduled for an MRI this Monday.

Here's the meat of my question....If he determines I can't work as a cop anymore then what? Do they declare me disabled? It should also be noted that I don't work at the same agency as I did when I was initially injured, so the w/c carriers are not the same. How would I be compensated? Would I get a disability check? Am I forced to seek employment that won't effect my shoulder? I have many questions about the process and my husband and I are not necessarily in a position to not have to worry about it financially. Not to mention the fact that a career that has been worked hard for may come to a close..

Thanks in advance for reading this far and I look forward to responses..

Kittnz

Ojt

If you are a police officer in Oregon are you also a member of the Public Employees Retirement System? If so, and this is an on-the-job injury you may also want to check into that. I know that OPERS has a disability retirement program that covers it members.

Comment