Complete Labor Law Poster for $24.95
from www.LaborLawCenter.com, includes
State, Federal, & OSHA posting requirements

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Training for server in Fl

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Training for server in Fl

    I just got my first serving job and I was told that the owner is only paying me $3 an hour and I don't get tips. I trained for 4 days and worked 4 hours at least a day for those 4 days. The minimum wage in Fl is $6.15 and $3.15 for servers (plus tips). Since I was training and not recieveing tips though I did as much work as the hired server, did the owner break a law by only paying me $3 an hour and not $6.15 since I wasnt aloud to recieve tips? Is this illegal?

  • #2
    There are very few situations where a sub-minimum training wage is allowed and I do not see this as one of them. You can contact the Workforce Development agency, which serves as a pseudo-Dept. of Labor in Florida, and file a complaint for failure to pay minimum wage. This is one of the few Florida laws that this agency has the mandate to enforce.
    I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.

    Comment

    The LaborLawTalk.com forum is intended for informational use only and should not be relied upon and is not a substitute for legal advice. The information contained on LaborLawTalk.com are opinions and suggestions of members and is not a representation of the opinions of LaborLawTalk.com. LaborLawTalk.com does not warrant or vouch for the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any postings or the qualifications of any person responding. Please consult a legal expert or seek the services of an attorney in your area for more accuracy on your specific situation.
    Working...
    X