Complete Labor Law Poster for $24.95
from www.LaborLawCenter.com, includes
State, Federal, & OSHA posting requirements

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Break Laws for Employees under 18 in WV

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Rane
    replied
    Thank you

    Leave a comment:


  • Pattymd
    replied
    West Virginia appears to default to federal law regarding restrictions on working hours and type of work. Start here:
    http://www.dol.gov/compliance/guide/...r.htm#BasicPro

    By state law, the only requirement is that you be allowed a 20-minute meal break if you work at least a 6-hour shift. There is no legal requirement that you be provided additional breaks if additional hours are worked.
    http://www.labor.state.wv.us/wage/faq.html

    Regarding leaving the premises, generally speaking, if you can pursue your own activities during the meal period, the fact that the employer requires you to stay on the premises during that period does not automatically make the time compensable. Realistically speaking, 30 minutes is not very much time to get out, go somewhere and get something to eat, eat it, and get back to work. I would imagine they have had problems with this in the past, especially with younger employees, hence the company rule.

    Leave a comment:


  • Rane
    started a topic Break Laws for Employees under 18 in WV

    Break Laws for Employees under 18 in WV

    Hello. I work at a gaming/pizza parlor type place in West Virginia where 90% of the employees are high school students under the age of 18. I was just wondering what the break laws are for West Virginia. Currently, all employees get one unpaid 30 minute break for working five hours or over. Even if we work a 10 and a half hour shift (which happens sometimes on our busy Saturdays), we're only allowed one 30 minute break. During that break, we're not allowed to leave the building, even though we're not currently on the clock, or we're terminated immediately.

    So, in conclusion:
    Are there any laws requiring breaks periodically for employees under 18?
    Are they allowed to tell us that we're not allowed to leave the building when we're not on the clock during our breaks for risk of being fired?

    Thanks.
    --Gilbert
The LaborLawTalk.com forum is intended for informational use only and should not be relied upon and is not a substitute for legal advice. The information contained on LaborLawTalk.com are opinions and suggestions of members and is not a representation of the opinions of LaborLawTalk.com. LaborLawTalk.com does not warrant or vouch for the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any postings or the qualifications of any person responding. Please consult a legal expert or seek the services of an attorney in your area for more accuracy on your specific situation.
Working...
X