This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Salary vs Hourly

I'm a pharmacist in Texas and have a question about being hourly or salaried. It seems the company I am working for wants me both ways..... I am given a wage based $ per hour and I am expected to be at work at a certain time and leave at a certain time (no scheduled breaks or lunch breaks) and if I work over my scheduled time they say they won't pay me (because I am "salaried") BUT if I work less time (even 1 hour) they don't pay that either. Please inform me of the differences between "salaried" and "hourly". Thank you.

"Salaried" and "hourly" are merely pay methods. As a pharmacist, you qualify as exempt from overtime laws under the Professional exemption. However, you are right, they can't have it both ways. As an exempt employee, you must be paid your full weekly wage for any week in which you perform work. The employer can, however, substitute vacation or sick pay for any time missed, and they can dock your salary by a full day if you do not work at all that day due to personal reasons, or if you are sick and the company does not have a sick pay benefit. (There are other exceptions too, but they are specific to the situation, and do not apply to a regular work day/week).

You can file a claim with the Texas Workforce Commission.

And, btw, Texas law does not require meal breaks or rest periods. In addition, your employer has the right to set your work hours, even if you are exempt.
    I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.

Comment

More specific