This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Required to be there without pay California

My daughter is a swim instructor and has scheduled lessons with gaps between lessons. Here employer requires her to be there and she is not paid for the time between lessons. She is only being paid for the instruction time. If a client cancels then she is not being paid for the missed lesson but she is still required to be at the pool. I feel she should be paid for all this time as she is an employee and not a contractor.

How much time are we talking about? Is she performing work during the time she is waiting or if a lesson is cancelled? Is there a reason she can notleave if her lessons are cancelled for the day?
    I post with the full knowledge and support of my employer, though the opinions rendered are my own and not necessarily representative of their position. In other words, I'm a free agent.

Comment

She is scheduled to be there from 10:30 - 5:00 today. Her lessons are scheduled throughout this 6.5 hour day. She may have a lesson that ends at 11:00 and the next lesson isn't scheduled until 11:20. She is not getting paid for this 20 minutes and is told she has to stay at the pool. Also, if the 11:20 appointment is canceled and her next appointment is at 11:40 she will not get paid for a total of 40 minutes.

Comment

Are these break meal breaks? If so, she does not need to be paid for breaks longer than 20 minutes. If she is performing no work but merely needs to be present because she has another appointment scheduled shortly after, she need not be paid. Now if she is expected to perform work during that time, such as creating lesson plans, preparing equipment, serving as life guard, paperwork or other duties directed by the employer, then she should be paid for that time. If she then just gets a longer duty free lunch, she does not.