This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Docked wages in Arkansas

Hello, people. I first went Googling to find an answer to my questions - but so far, I've not found real answers.

I work in a factory which runs 24/7, and I'm on third shift maintenance. Our hours worked are tracked by a time clock. We are required to take a 30 minute break for lunch, and we are required to clock out, and clock in at the beginning and end of that break. So far, no real problems.

The clock that we use prints out the time, in a nice readable manner, most of the day. However, between the hours of 1:00 AM and 4:00 AM, the clock movement doesn't move far enough on the card to make legible clock-out/clock-in times.

The payroll lady has always said that she could read the time, even though it prints on top of the already printed clock time. However - SOME employees have noticed the illegible times, and are taking advantage of that. They will clock out, wait a minute or two, then clock in, leaving a smudged mess. Then, they leave the plant, and may or may not return on time.

Effective immediately, the new rule is, if the times aren't legible to the payroll lady, then you will be docked 1 full hour.

The above is a situation that affects all of third shift - first and second shift are unaffected, because the clock actually moves often enough, and far enough to make legible times. (I think it works in 15 minute increments during the day - but the three hours in question it moves far less often) This affects third shift only.

Remember - I said that I work in maintenance. I am the only maintenance man on the premises for 8 hours each day.