This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Salary Minus Benefits = Unrealistic Annual Salary

I work for a company that may be considered seasonal since we do the majority of our business 4 months out of the year. We are still open the rest of the year but we concentrate on marketing and recruitment.

Anyway getting to my question. I'm an administrator in this company overseeing two major parts of the year round operation. I'm a salary/exempt employee. My salary is based on an actual base amount plus housing provided by the company. This is all well and good.

Currently I'm trying to move out of the provided housing into my own home. Is there any law that would require my employer to increase my salary in place of the rent free home I have been provided over the last few years. My salary is considerably low for anyone in my field and position but with the free housing that was adequate but without housing it's completely unreasonable.

Any thoughts or suggestions would be appreciated.

Probably no laws of the type you are talking about. The main federal labor law for paying people is FLSA. That law requires non-exempt employees to be paid at least minimum wage ($7.25/hr) and employee who are both Exempt and Salaried to be paid at least $455/week (more in some states). The law allows the value of the housing to count toward these requirements at least some of the time (meaning rules).

There is no federal labor law rule requiring the employer to pay more base wages then this for any reason.
    "Reality is that which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away".
    Philip K. **** (1928-1982)

Comment

I couldn't answer to the 'law', but you would have an arguement to the wage difference. A portion of the housing, if not all on an estimated, or fair market rental value is likely taxable at state or federal levels, or possibly both.