This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Call pay for nurses in Texas

I am a nurse in Texas working for a freestanding clinic. They require that 2 nurses be on call, 1st and 2nd. Two nurses are required to go into the clinic after hours and on weekends if necessary. This is for safety reasons in case it is late in the evening or the need for CPR or EMS. Both nurses were getting call pay $10.00 for weekdays and $15.00 for weekends. If they went into the clinic they are paid time and a half for 2 hours minimum. Several years ago they told us they were not going to continue paying 2nd call (10 & 15 )unless they went into the clinic and then it was only call back pay ( 1 1/2 time). We did not fuss as we thought it was some law and were more concerned about taking care of the patients instead. Now we are on call either 1st or 2nd every 2-3 weeks. We cannot make any plans to go out as the evening gets interrupted quite frequently and no one can have a glass of wine or ****tail for the same reason. We are getting tired but continue our jobs. The Policy & Procedure states that a person on call will receive call pay but that is as far as it goes. Is there any law covering nurses that are required to take 2nd call? I would appreciate any help you can give me.

No, there is no such law in any state. Generally speaking, being "on call" is not compensable unless your personal activities are severely restricted; courts have ruled that not being able to consume alcohol is not enough. Neither is the automatic time-and-a-half or minimum of 2 hours required (in Texas). So on those two points, the employer is doing more than is required by law.

One question, though. When are are called to go in, how quickly must you get there?
    I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.

Comment

re: Texas nurse call pay