X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Salary Exempt? Vocational School Instructor

Good evening.

I work as a Chef Instructor at a culinary school in California. A discussion has recently arisen regarding the exact nature of our employment, ie salary exempt vs salary nonexempt. When I was hired my offer letter and paper work specified my salary but didnt say anything about exempt vs nonexempt status. Now the company is saying we are exampt based on the professional exemption. The problem arises in actually reading the rules it seems like we do not fully fall under that exemption. For instance our position only requires a Certificate level of culinary training although Associate of Occupational Studies is preferred. Additionally we are not licensed or certified by the Sate of California for our position.

Our day to day duties of teaching a class involve demonstrating cooking dishes based on published recipes that are standard for all of our schools, observing students as they repeat the recipes, lecturing on culinary topics and then grading of papers and tracking student attendance.

Other schools that our parent company owns requires bachelors and masters degrees for many of their positions but the culinary positions for most faculty require associate degrees at most.

Based on this information should we be qualified as exempt or should I consult a lawyer for a more in depth look?

Thanks,

Cookingovertime

How about contacting the DLSE (if you can actually get through)?
    I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.

Comment

Ok, so youre saying it sounds like I should try and get a hold of the DLSE? Ive tried calling but as you said, getting them to answer can be difficult.

Comment

Check back over the next day or two. There are a couple of responders here who are better at California-specific law than I am.