This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Exempt pay deduction in Illinois

I work as an IT Consultant, and in that capacity am treated as a Salaried, Exempt employee. Because of that, I am expected to work extended hours and keep an on call phone with me without overtime.

My work involves providing email, phone, remote, and on site support to customers, and then billing them at an hourly rate for my time. My salary does not depend on the number of hours that I bill, except in the sense that I am given a bonus for exceeding a certain number of hours. My pay is not reduced for not exceeding that number of hours.

One day recently, I was out of the office for a portion of the day due to a personal situation. A pipe had burst and was leaking water throughout the house. During that time, I fulfilled my normal duties in phone, email, and remote support and billed customers appropriately.

Apologies for the post length, I was attempting to include as much information as possible based on follow up questions in other threads.

On my pay summary for that period, it was noted that I used 8 hours of vacation time for that day.

Our vacation time has actual value in that it accrues per paycheck, and upon reaching a point, must be cashed out to avoid exceeding an arbitrary amount of hours.

Would this be considered a reduction in pay that is not allowed for exempt employees based on a partial day absence?

Originally posted by ILL_IT View Post
    Would this be considered a reduction in pay that is not allowed for exempt employees based on a partial day absence?