Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Boss clocking me and every other employee out for breaks we are not taking Iowa

I recently left a job due to a boss clocking me and other employees out for breaks that were not being taken in order to be in compliance with a company break rule. I am 99% sure that this is illegal since it is illegal for someone to alter your time clock unless they are making it more accurate to what you actually worked. I have all documentation of this being done and also a written statement from a new manager that i was training that was told to do this for everyone. Does anyone have any advice on what the next step i could take would be? I have already terminated my employment due to illegal working conditions ( i was an assistant manager in good standing) and contacted the VP of the company. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

If you did not get paid for all the time you actually worked, you can file a complaint with the state DOL.
    The above answer, whatever it is, assumes that no legally binding and enforceable contract or CBA says otherwise. If it does, then the terms of the contract or CBA apply.

Comment

Adjusting timeclock entries is not in itself illegal. The law doesn't care what time is clocked...it only cares that you get paid for the time you work. If the alterations being made to the timeclock are causing you to not be paid for the breaks you are working through, THAT is illegal.

File a claim for unpaid wages with Iowa Workforce Development. You can find a link to the claim form on this page.

Comment