This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Management Adjusting Clock-in Times West Virginia

Hey folks, this is my first post after I stumbled onto this very informative website tonight in search of an answer. I'm not very good with reading and interpreting laws and going through was seems to be countless pages devoted to them. Now I come to you intelligent people with a simple problem I've run into lately with my employer in West Virginia.

I work as a quality assurer at a restaurant in West Virginia; I'm paid hourly and also tipped as part of their tip share system. That information may or may not be useful regarding my fairly simple question about the legality of management adjusting my clock-in times.

With the nature of this business nearly everybody clocks in at least a few minutes early, some people even a half hour or nearly an hour early. I've only been working there a few weeks and the management seems to be rounding up all of my clock-ins to the hour I'm scheduled to start. It doesn't seem to matter how early I clock-in, whether it be 20 minutes or a single minute they always adjust my time, stealing those minutes from me. Is this legal? especially with that fact that they for some reason only do this to me. I've looked at other employees periods slips, showing their clock times left untouched.

Thanks for reading.

Ok, I'm considering you an hourly non-exempt employee.

Do you start work right after clocking in? You have to be paid for all time worked. However, your employer can discipline you for clocking in early & starting work. There are federal rounding rules of time but they can't deduct 20 min. of work time from your pay. Here is a link re the federal use of time clocks & rounding practices.

http://www.dol.gov/dol/allcfr/ESA/Ti...9CFR785.48.htm