This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• get warning for staying late - i'm a nurse Massachusetts

I worked as a nurse in nursing home in an alzheimers unit. I'm on probation. for the last 2 months they've been boucinng me back and forth on different sides of the unit making it impossible to do my job routinely. However for the last 2 1/2 weeks they finally put me to one side, as week passed, I'm starting to get used to meds as well as treatment thus making ea day more easier. However there are nights that residents needs more attention than usual therefore more notes to write as well as other task needs to be done. I work 3-11 but when things at night does not go as planned, I ended up staying 15 mins more to 2 hours depending on the situation that night. I've been getting written up for staying more than 15 minutes -2 hours. It is beyond my control. Some of the old nurses that's been there longer got written up too for staying longer. I don't even take breaks sometimes because you can get busy. The unit manager is no help but she feels that there are things you can do to make time to finish your work but I disagree as well as other nurses...Next time I will be fired. I don't know what my recourse or anylabor laws. One nurse started punching out and comes back to work on the things she did not finished doing. I did this once but I felt it is not right either when you are trying to do your job accurately and appropriately. I feel they do not care about quality care but more so that you should leave on time. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Although it may be terribly unfair, if you are fired for working unauthorized overtime, it would be a legal termination. Now, if you were expected to leave your patients unattended, I would also think about contacting the state nursing board; but if the extra time is normally spent just doing paperwork, there isn't anything they can advise you on.