SDI deduction on WA paycheck? Washington

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• SDI deduction on WA paycheck? Washington

I wasn't exactly sure which forum to post this question in...so I posted twice...

I work at an independently owned franchise. The owner hires a CPA to do her payroll and I have caught him making a number of mistakes (i.e. he advised my boss to pay us on the 5th and 20th of each month but for only 14 days at a time, which ended up violating a law that says you can't pay an employee more than 11 days after the end of that pay period). She changed our pay periods to 14 days at a time because the CPA couldn't figure out overtime if the periods were longer (like 15th-EOM). So I've been keeping a close eye on my hours and paystubs.

The other day I noticed that under deductions on my paystub there is something labeled SDI. When I looked this up it shows that it is a state disability tax in the states of California, New York and New Jersey. I am a resident and employee in the state of Washington...should this be coming out of my paycheck?

Please do NOT post twice; it only makes things confusing for the responders.

I'll delete the other one for you.

I'll let one of the payroll people address your questions.
    The above answer, whatever it is, assumes that no legally binding and enforceable contract or CBA says otherwise. If it does, then the terms of the contract or CBA apply.

Comment

I was wondering where the thread went while I was composing my response.

How much is it? Washington DOES give the employer the right to deduct a portion of Worker's Comp premiums (the only state which does), based on hours worked. Maybe it's just mislabeled on the stub.

Or is it a percentage of taxable earnings?
      I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.

Comment