This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pay cut. hourly + commission...losing commission California

So i work as a service tech. for a national company. I get paid 10 dollars and hour plus commission. My commission is based on how many stops/services i do each month. Lately, my services have added up to about 16000 at the end of the month. I get 20% of the difference between 12000 to 16000 (or unlimited if i made more on my stops). So my 10/hr + about 800 in commission.

Since i'm doing such an awesome job (patting myself on the back) they have decided to hire someone else and take over 3000 off of my route and give it to a new guy.

So i'm taking a pay cut. I don't want to, but they have decided to give my stops to someone else. Since my base pay doesn't change, is it legal to take my commission away from me? Are they required to raise my hourly rate to make up for the lack in my checks?

--feasting on top ramen soon in california

Absent a contract or collective bargining agreement, employers can generally change compensation packages on a go forward basis.
    "Reality is that which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away".
    Philip K. **** (1928-1982)

Comment

Originally posted by DAW View Post
      Absent a contract or collective bargining agreement, employers can generally change compensation packages on a go forward basis.
      thanks, I'll ask for any document i signed when i was hired (that i did not receive a copy of.

Originally posted by joec
      Hey look at the bright side the company is probable expanding,as they do you will get even Mo Money,Mo Money! Thats why they are hiring,why would they hire another guy,if there is only work for one? They wouldn't Mo Money,Mo Money!
      JoeC