This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Unpaid wages in GA

I worked in sales for a family owned company in GA for 2 years. The last year I worked on a commission only basis, basically as a contract employee as no taxes were taken out, etc. I was fired for no reason in October (best thing for me) but the company still owes me approximately $10,000 for sales jobs that I secured. I have copies of the quotes for the jobs I secured and sold to the customers. While employed, the company paid me as each job was totaly completed. However, right now they continue to give the run around on why I have not been paid for jobs I know are completed, and they are making excuses such as the jobs are taking longer than expected, B has had to put in more work on the job, B had to change things, etc to short me money I would assume.

How can I recover these wages? Who do I contact to assist with this? It is becoming obvious they are not going to pay willingly so I need to pursue other alternatives. Please help.

There legally is no such thing as a "contract employee". There are generally just "employees" and "independant contractors", although "statutory nonemployees" are also a possibility for a commissioned sales person. If you are not an employee, then traditional labor remedies such as wage claims are off the table. Independant contractors (IC) are subject to contract law, not labor law, and the traditional remedy is a small claims or general court action.

Statutory nonemployees are "qualified real estate agents" or something called "direct sellers" which would include people telemarketing out of their house or newspaper delivery people. I always assumed that since these people were handled in a similar fashion to IC as far as remedies go, but that is a guess (meaning maybe incorrect).

-----

To further complicate the matter, this assumes that you are correctly classified in the first place. There is a chance that you are legally an employee.