This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help!!

I am new to this, so please forgive me if I do something wrong.
    I am a Business Office Manager for a nursing home & have been there for 12 years now. For a majority of that time I have been paid salery. The owner of our nursing home just recently signed a management contract with another man to help him get on a budget. This new management has put me back on the time clock, which I really don't have a problem with. My problem comes with this new manager telling me that he is required "by law" to put me on the time clock because "by law" a Business Office Manager is not a department head or a supervisor. He also said that "by law" I am required to clock out for a lunch break. My next question is while I was on salery I took off to take kids to the Dr. etc... but no one ever kept up with my off days (I have documented most of my days, but not all). Our policy states that an employee that clocks in & out will receive 15 PDO days per year. I asked my new manager about this stating that since I am starting on the clock at the end of the year, how will I know how many PDO's I have coming. He stated "we will come to a compremise (sp?) because no one had kept up with your PDO's." Well, the day after Thanksgiving I took off (as well as the rest of the office) & requested a PDO. He denied it stating that I do not have any days left. How can he prove that I don't?

Salary is just a pay method. Are you exempt or non-exempt?

You can be required to punch in and out of a timeclock regardless if you are exempt or non-exempt. I'm not sure what Texas law says about breaks, but if your employer tells you to take one, you take one. If it's under 20 minutes, you must be paid, but if it's more, you can be required to clock out and do not have to be paid for that time (if you're non-exempt).

Someone will probably come along and chime in with more.

Comment