This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question California

i have a question about sexul harassment. i worked for a company and helped develop a new job position. i knew that once they hafd the job on the billet that it would be mine. obvioulsy i had been doing it for 2 years already. when the job got on the billet i flw back to SC. but things were really wierd. i heard through the grapevine that they were astonished at what i wore. i wore a white bluse and back slacks. anyway, my svp called and he told me the main issue was that i have a figure and what i wore accentuated my figure. and that when girls who are in the choir show up dressed inappropriately they ask them to put arobe over themselves as to not make any of the men 'stumble' i have to tell you that i was shocked to hear such a thing. it wasn't my job performance but that i may make men 'stumble' . let me put in context that i was not by any stretch of the imagination dressed like a hootch. things have gone terribly down hill at my job since. now i'm out on disability and they're even fighting that.

is that cinsidered sexual harrassment?

"Stumble"? Is this a religious organization? I've never heard that term in this context outside of church.

Having said that, though, the employer CAN set what they feel is an appropriate dress code. OTOH, are they looking for muu-muus? I'm not trying to make light of this situation, honest, but it sounds a little flaky to me.

However, it doesn't rise to the level of sexual harrassment that I can see.
    Last edited by Pattymd; 01-12-2008, 01:11 PM.
    I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.

Comment

Telling you that in their opinion you were dressed inappropriately? No, that is not sexual harassment.