This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Travel time for Field Service Engineer

I am a field service engineer. I work out of my house in Texas and am required to travel to customer's sites all over the U.S. and overseas. I have to take about 50 lbs. of tools and parts with me when I travel. My question is, am I entitled to overtime for time spent traveling?

My company is located in California and I live in Texas.

Thanks,

Terry

As a field service engineer (I'm not sure exactly what that is), are you an exempt or a nonexempt employee? Do you get paid overtime? What exactly are your duties?
    I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.

Comment

Field Service Engineers

Nose,

Along the same lines as Patty's questions, your entitlement to overtime is going to depend in large part on whether or not you are exempt according to the federal wage and hour law known as the Fair Labor Standards Act.

I spent several years working with field service engineers (sometimes called CEs, or customer engineers) and they were all exempt. They were professionals, although not necessarily RPE, and were not legally entitled to overtime pay. Most of them got comp time for extra time spent in traveling, if the travel couldn't be done on normal work days (or nights). That was done at the discretion of the company, though, and not required.

If you're salaried, visiting customer sites world-wide, and resolving problems on behalf of the company, you're likely exempt, and you have to get your money up front, in the salary or bonus negotiation.

If you're hourly, or non-exempt, it's another story. In that case, you get into a whole complicated scenario involving normal working hours, travel hours, and whether you're driving, flying, or just hanging out.

Patty is the payroll expert, and knows the rules well.

Comment