This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• california overtime laws versus federal overtime laws

I'm an employee of a company in california. I work as a software developer. I'm not a manager, no one works under me, and I
    don't have keys to the office. According to California State Labor Laws, computer professionals are exempt from overtime law
    if they make over $45/hour. According to federal labor law, that number is lower -- $27.63 an hour. Can someone please tell
    me which law takes precedence? My employer is trying to tell me that I'm ineligible for overtime pay since I make $30/hour
    (salaried). But under california state law, even salaried employees can receive overtime pay as long as their salary doesn't equate
    to more than $45 an hour. Can I tell my employer that he has to pay me overtime? Who has jurisdiction, California state
    or the feds?

This refers to california labor code 515.5.
    Federal link is http://www.dol.gov/elaws/esa/flsa/screen75.asp

Someone please help me.

The law that provides the advantage to the employee controls, so California law would apply in this situation.

All this law says is that certain computer professionals who make over the hourly rate stated CAN be paid on an hourly basis and still be exempt from the overtime laws. The employer can treat you as exempt and pay you a fixed salary if you would otherwise qualify. Software developers CAN be considered as exempt employees under the professional exemption. See here:
    http://www.dol.gov/esa/regs/complian...ofessional.htm

I do know that the weekly salary minimum for exempt employees is higher than the federal, although I couldn't find it with a cursory search.
    I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.

Comment