Complete Labor Law Poster for $24.95
from www.LaborLawCenter.com, includes
State, Federal, & OSHA posting requirements

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How much time after termination should I get last check?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • How much time after termination should I get last check?

    I was fired on tuesday. How long does my employer have to give me a final check of all moneys owed?

    They promised me a check in the mail within 24hrs. Still nothing

    *Edit* This is in Utah unless that wasnt obvious.

    I already searched through the labor code but couldnt find anything.

    Thanks for your help!
    Last edited by 2002maniac; 04-06-2006, 03:43 PM.

  • #2
    In Utah, if you are fired, they need to release your final check within 24 hours.

    You can contact the UT DOL and file a complaint. However, since mailing time is often variable and not within the employer's control, before you do that I'd check back with them first.
    The above answer, whatever it is, assumes that no legally binding and enforceable contract or CBA says otherwise. If it does, then the terms of the contract or CBA apply.

    Comment

    The LaborLawTalk.com forum is intended for informational use only and should not be relied upon and is not a substitute for legal advice. The information contained on LaborLawTalk.com are opinions and suggestions of members and is not a representation of the opinions of LaborLawTalk.com. LaborLawTalk.com does not warrant or vouch for the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any postings or the qualifications of any person responding. Please consult a legal expert or seek the services of an attorney in your area for more accuracy on your specific situation.
    Working...
    X