Complete Labor Law Poster for $24.95
from, includes
State, Federal, & OSHA posting requirements


No announcement yet.

overtime in Utah

This topic is closed.
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • overtime in Utah

    My question is, in the state of Utah, can employers do the following: if I take 8 hours of vacation on Monday and then work four 10 hour days on Tues, Wed, Thurs and Fri, can my employer pay me for 48 hours of straight time? Our overtime policy is that we are paid overtime after 40 hours.

  • #2
    Under Federal law, you do not have a right to be paid overtime until you have WORKED over 40 hours in a week. Overtime is not calculated on hours paid; it is calculated on hours worked. Nor does any state law require that paid leave time be included in overtime calculations.

    In the example you provide, paying 48 hours of straight time is correct.
    The above answer, whatever it is, assumes that no legally binding and enforceable contract or CBA says otherwise. If it does, then the terms of the contract or CBA apply.


    • #3
      Thank you very much for your quick response.


      The forum is intended for informational use only and should not be relied upon and is not a substitute for legal advice. The information contained on are opinions and suggestions of members and is not a representation of the opinions of does not warrant or vouch for the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any postings or the qualifications of any person responding. Please consult a legal expert or seek the services of an attorney in your area for more accuracy on your specific situation.