This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• help in houston Texas

I am a dentist currently practicing for a very large national chain. The employment terms that I signed with them say:

"Either party may voluntarily terminate this agreement at any time by providing at least 60 days prior written notice to the other party. If the Dentist terminates employment and fails to comply with the 60 day notice, Dentist shall pay to Group the sum of $500 for each regularly scheduled work day missed during such 60 day period."

I gave them my written 60 day notice about a month ago, but since then they have hired a new dentist to replace me, and are not putting any patients on my schedule. Most dentists are paid a % commission for the work that they do, so with no patients I am not being paid anything. Seeing as how the patients are being cared for, and I am being paid nothing to show up to work, I would like to just stop going, but they insist on me fulfilling the 60 day obligation.

Is there any way out of this??

Thank you so much for your help.

You'd be best off getting the advice of a Texas employment/contract law attorney. Although we have a couple of Texas HR professionals here, I don't think we have any Texas attorneys.

Were you an employee or an independent contractor in this practice?
    I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.

Comment