This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to determine if I am Exempt,or non-Ex ? Texas

I work as a service tech for a company the supplies instrumentationn to the Petro-Chem industry. I have always been paid for my ot in excess of 40 hrs for the 30 yrs I have been in this business.My boss now tells me that I cannot get any ot pay unless I have 40 hrs of BILLABLE hrs for that week.Unfortunately, I am not always 100% billable for some weeks.

One example,I was on a job where I could have billed a full 40 hrs to a customer,but I was called to the main office by my boss to attend a mandatory meeting for 8 hrs (non-billable).Then I had to go back to the customers site on a Saturday (which would have normally been OT),but now I had 40 hrs billable + 8 hrs non-billable,so he would not pay any ot,only 40 hrs straight time

Another example,I was scheduled for a job as a Turnaround Coordinator where I would be working about 4-6 hrs a day chargable to the Customer.Then around Thursday,it was decided that I would have to work Sat/Sun for about 6 hrs each day (billable to the Customer).Boss said that no ot would be paid,until a full 40 hrs had been billed.Even though I was at work for all 7 days.

Even though I am not always billing the Customer a full 40 hrs/per week,I am expected to attend meetings,provide training,and do Warranty jobs that are non-billable.

The boss said that I am considered exempt salary,even though when I hired on 20 yrs ago,I was verbally told that I was non-exempt.I do not have this in writing though.Shouldn't this type of job be considerd "Non-Exempt"?

Your post

I believe that your boss is trying to get out of paying overtime, as many do. My suggestion is to ask your employer what exemption you fall into as stated by the Fair Labor Standards Act...the employer may be able to provide a category, but it is unlikely that it holds any water.

This is a great place for you to start http://www.dol.gov/