This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Commissioned Mechanic made to do "other" duties South Carolina

I am a commissioned mechanic that was told last week that we are now going to have one hour meetings one day a week and help straighten cars on the front lot one hour a week... non paid. My question is really what law governs the tasks a commissioned employee has to do outside their job duties. I have contacted my HR dept. and was told that since I have an hourly rate (60% of my commissioned rate) I have to do these two things each week. However,... i am only paid my hourly rate (60% of my commissioned rate x number of hours worked) if this number is more than my "turned" hours. (meaning the number of commissioned hours I charged to work on cars during this time) Honestly, I have never been paid my hourly wage because I have always "turned" more hours than I have been there. I look at this as a way for the company to get free hours from us who are performing well. Am I not due pay for this time worked and spent in meetings? I know some may frown on this because you spend much time in meetings, but I don't. you get to go to meetings and I get to get dirty... fair trade eh? Anyhow... any ideas? Thanks a ton !

As long as your gross pay, when divided by your total hours worked (no matter what tasks you are performing) equals at least minimum wage there is no violation of wage and hour law. The employer can require you perform any duties they assign you, unless the duties are unsafe. This includes meetings.

Do you work for a dealership or an independent garage?
    Last edited by Pattymd; 03-23-2009, 10:20 PM.
    I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.

Comment

Update Pattymd: You are correct with my term "commissioned"