This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• truck driver percentage wage laws South Carolina

I am a truck driver. I am paid 25% of a load. My employer refuses to show us a break down and show us proof of our pay. In other words on our pay check every week we see a load number and beside it what they paid us. It does not disclose how much they got paid so we will know if we did get our 25%. we are told to trust them on the math. I would like to know if we are protected in Sc against this practice. Several drivers have found proof that the company was stealing up to $150 per load from there check. When the employees brought this to managements attention they were told to clean out there truck. Are we protected against this practice and if so what law or code is it that protects us? I was terminated 24 hours after finding a $100 mistake on my pay and brought it to managements attention. I would like to know if I can pursue this further but I want to know what laws I am protected under and if I can get them to show me a break down of all loads I have ever ran for them to see how much money I am owed. Also, this company charges us [the drivers] a fuel surcharge for the loads but we are company drivers not owner operators. they do this so they do not have to charge the customer. be it, it is only $20 a load but I have pulled over a thousand loads for them in 2 years. that is $4K (estimate)

No law especially comes to mind that would require the employer provide all the detailed documentation. This is specific enough that you might want to call the state DOL and see if you can get them to give an opinion.
    (803) 896-4840
    I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.

Comment