This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Full time and part time status

What are the hours set for a full time employee and a part time employee in the state of SC?

Whatever the employer designates them to be.
    I post with the full knowledge and support of my employer, though the opinions rendered are my own and not necessarily representative of their position. In other words, I'm a free agent.

Comment

Originally posted by sedgington View Post
      What are the hours set for a full time employee and a part time employee in the state of SC?
      There isn't any statute in South Carolina that mandates what FT or PT are. That is set by the employer.
      Somedays you're the windshield and somedays you're the bug.

Comment

Originally posted by ElleMD View Post
        Whatever the employer designates them to be.

slight change to this question:

if one (in SC) had a part time employee (say 15-30hrs/week), and then for a period that employee was to work up to 40hrs/week. Would an employer be required to treat the employee as a permanent full-time employee with benefits given permanent full-time employees?

Comment

"Required" by whom? The government? If we are talking private sector employers, there is generally speaking no law making the "part time" vs. "full time" distinction. Some companies internally make this distinction. I have worked for several of them. But this was a distinction that the company came up with all by themselves without the government telling them to do it. Some companies can have Collective Bargaining Agreements which spell this out. Some governmental employers have very tight rules in this area, and seem to jump through a lot of hoops to keep employees either temporary or part time to avoid benefits. But there is no one-size-fits-all answer here. Different companies can and do have different rules on this. And most companies have no rules at all on this.