This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• OT laws For Automotive repair facility South Carolina

I work at a car dealership in Rock Hill, SC. Im an hourly paid technician and work over 40 hours a week and i dont get paid OT. Is that right? Also, are flat rate technicians exempt from OT considering the only get paid for the work they perform?

Is your job as a technician classified as exempt or non-exempt? Even some non-exempt workers are exempt from overtime including: those who sell cars & trucks, & mechanics or parts persons who service cars & trucks.
    Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around. Leo Buscaglia

Live in peace with animals. Animals bring love to our hearts and warmth to our souls.

Comment

Agreed. The rules for employees who work for auto dealers can be found at:

http://www.dol.gov/esa/regs/compliance/whd/whdfs11.htm
      "Reality is that which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away".
      Philip K. **** (1928-1982)

Comment

Im really not sure if im exmt or non-exempt. Where could i find that information? All i know is that i get paid hourly and work over 40 hours a week, with no OT pay.

Comment

If you're paid hourly, in the type of work you do, you're nonexempt.
          I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.

Comment

Originally posted by Pattymd View Post
            If you're paid hourly, in the type of work you do, you're nonexempt.
            The above statement in not entirely accurate, if the employee is employed by a car dealership. Employees of a car dealership regardless of method of payment, salary or hourly can be exempt from the overtime provisions, IF they are paid on a commission basis, which technician usually are.