X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is it Legal? Pennsylvania

Hi,
    I work in the automotive industry as a mechanic in Pennsylvania. I hurt myself working on a car with one of the lifts. I have gouges and scratches on my face. My boss told me I had to "take care of that on my own time" in regards to my injuries, and the underlying tone was that I would be fired if I left work! Is that legal? I understand I may not be paid for leaving work to see a doctor, but NOT being allowed to leave work to see a doctor for injuries sustained at work while working??!!? Someone please shed some light on this for me!

That may be a potential workers' compensation injury, which may or may not be worth pursuing depending on the injury. You should call a lawyer - you can usually get a consultation for free. Employers are required to carry workers' compensation insurance and to refer you to a WC doctor or allow you to go to one if they don't provide a list of doctors.

Comment

No, you don't have to be giving time off work to go to the doctor. If it is an emergency and your employer sends you for care, the time must be paid but if it is your choice to go or not, it need not be paid. Since you didn't ask to go to the doctor, you don't know that you would not have been permitted. Underlying tones are not the same as refusing to allow you to get treatment. Even if he did say you could not go during work hours, it would not be illegal.

While you can hire a lawyer, there isn't anything for one to do at this point.
      I post with the full knowledge and support of my employer, though the opinions rendered are my own and not necessarily representative of their position. In other words, I'm a free agent.

Comment

ElleMD is right in that the employer doesn't have to allow you to get treatment during worktime.