X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question about what counts as "work" when salaried

Hello,

So my situation is that I am a salaried manager for a retail store in the state of Oregon. It's expected that I work 44 hrs after breaks in order to be compliant.

Next week I am expected to travel 4 hour away to a mandatory meeting. I'm ok with this as 8 of the hours are concidered work towards my 44 and the travel time can be expensed.

My issue is that I am also to receive my annual performance review the day before and am being asked to drive in the day previous. This would mean 4 hours of travel on what should be one of my days off and include at least 2 hours of what I would consider to be "work" when I'm sitting down with my supervisor receiving me review. I'm a somewhat recent transplant from CA so I'm used to labor laws there more then in Oregon.. I'm not even used to this whole "salaried" business to begin with (my company operates in CA as well but with hourly managers)

Any help would be appreciated. I'll answer an follow up I can. Thanks

Are you also exempt? "Salaried" is merely a pay method and does not automatically equal exempt.

Are you getting overtime pay now? If you leave early one day for, for example, a doctor's appointment, is your salary docked?
    I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.

Comment

I believe I am exempt. I receive no overtime. I can do 44 hours or 60 and be paid the same. I accrue sick and vacation time to use when I need to not be there and my store receives the appropriate payroll hours to run things in my absence.
      Last edited by Mimalito; 04-16-2011, 01:29 PM.

Comment

If you are salaried exempt, you "work" whenever your employer tells you to & you
        get your regular fixed weekly salary no matter how many hours you "work."