This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Docked Sick Days among other things New York

Hello all. I have been working at a private club for about 4 months. While my job itself does not pose a challenge, my boss and comptroller do.

My boss, the manager, has cursed at me, banged his fists on my desk while screaming at me, threatened to "knock my teeth out" and has otherwise made my working enviornment unpleasant.

When I accepted the job I was told that I would have all "office" holidays off, 2 weeks vacation and sick days would be "worked out". I have since been asked to work every single holiday and my scheduled days off. When I brought this to my manager's attention-he told me I should have gotten what he had said in writing.

On my first day, I asked my comptroller where everyone goes for lunch. I was told since the club provides lunch, we are to eat at our desks. That wouldn't be a big deal except I am a front desk receptionist and REQUIRED to answer the phones during lunch. In fact, the comptroller personally forwarded calls upstairs when I decided to eat away from my desk. (Also, please note I do not eat the provided lunch)

I have kept my mouth shut--in part because I was fired in February and do not care to be fired again. However, I was sick 3 days last week and have been docked. I was never told I would be docked nor did I sign off on it. There is nothing in writing (unfortunately) about sick days, personal days, overtime etc. I have not gotten overtime, holiday pay etc. Since I eat at my desk and do not take lunch, have worked late, come in on my day off etc --shouldn't I be owed some compenation. Is what they are doing legal?

Any advice would be appreciated, thanks.

We can't answer any of your questions unless we know whether you are exempt or nonexempt and we have to know what your job duties are in order to do that.

BTW, it's not illegal for the boss to be a poor manager and a rude jerk.